Michigan State University Turfgrass Scienceturf.msu.edu

The MSU Turf Team - Working Toward a Greener Future

Faculty

Jim Crum, Ph.D. Soils and Construction

crum@msu.edu

Kevin W. Frank, Ph.D Nutrient Fate

frankk@msu.edu

David Gilstrap, Ph.D. Sports Turf

gilstrap@msu.edu

Mr. Yusong Mu China Turf Program

ymu@msu.edu

Thomas A. Nikolai, Ph.D. Cultural Management

nikolait@msu.edu

John N. "Trey" Rogers III, Ph.D. Establishment and Management

rogersj@msu.edu

David Smitley, Ph.D. Entomology

smitley@msu.edu

Joseph M. Vargas, Jr., Ph.D. Plant Pathology

vargas@msu.edu


Staff

Mr. Jeff Bryan Fertilizer Use - Water Quality

bryanj@msu.edu

Mr. Mark Collins Farm Manager

collin26@msu.edu

Mr. Ron Detweiler Plant Pathology - Diagnostics

detweil1@msu.edu

Ms. Nancy Dykema Plant Pathology

dykema@msu.edu

Mr. Aaron D. Hathaway Weed Management

hathaw21@msu.edu

Mr. Jeremy Lounds Web Design/Programming

loundsje@msu.edu

Mr. Frank Roggenbuck Irrigation Technician

roggenb1@msu.edu


Grad Students

Mr. Matthew Anderson Athletic Field Construction

turfmatt@gmail.com

Mr. Jeff Dunne Athletic Field Maintenance

dunnejef@msu.edu

Mr. Paul Giordano Plant Pathology

giorda13@msu.edu

Ms. Miyuan Xiao Putting Green Management

xiaomiyu@msu.edu

Mr. Liewei Yan Plant Pathology

yanliewe@msu.edu